SailNet Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all:
Just signed up for Sailnet and wanted to introduce myself.
Present boat: Saoirse, a 23' catboat - Bill Garden design called Family Cat. I recently had a pilot house built added to make her more useful in the Pacific Northwest. The next step is to have a new sail built for her. I'm planning to have it made it made in England from tan Clipper Canvas 7.2 ounce. I'm new to sailing a gaff rig so would love to hear from anyone with gaff/catboat experience.
I converted previous boats I owned to junk rig under guidance from the legendary Allen Farrell, about whom my wife Maria Coffey and I wrote the book 'Sailing back in Time'.

Attachments

·
Registered
926 Posts
That's a beautiful boat.
I own 2 copies of 'Sailing back in Time' and my wife and I have made a point of stopping at many of the locations mentioned.

Welcome to Sailnet.

·
Registered
4,642 Posts
Welcome to Sailnet ,Daggo. Often cruised with Sandy Davidson and his Family Cat . He and his wife lived aboard and cruised for years (without that good looking pilot house.) Allen and I go back a long time trading yarns and materials while he built his August Moon and China Cloud. I was aboard Thane .Don't remember if we'd met but Dan mentioned me in his book.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Great to hear that you have not only one, but two copies! All the time we spent with Allen and Sharie was truly wonderful. We learned so much from them and I still think about them almost every day. Maybe we'll see you on the water next summer!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Great to hear your comments, Cap Len. What was the name of Sandy's Family Cat? Is it still around?

·
Super Moderator
4,489 Posts
Welcome.

I sail a 21 ft gaff cat rigged sharpie. A bit different from your boat, but I am sure we can share ideas.