SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Rafiki 37
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 360 degree red and a 360 degree green LED series 34 lights from Aqua Signal, that I would like to use as the red over green option on my mast.

Has anyone else done this? I guess I can't use metal as it would screw with the radio reception...

I looked at the 2 180 degree lights but the only ones I could find were horrendously expensive so went with the 360s.

·
Master Mariner
9,414 Posts
Here's how it's normally done. On one side of the mast (the fore in this case) alongside it, not above it. It's not like one can hold a perfect course and it will always be behind the mast and it shines through the sail to some degree.

Attachments

Reactions: alctel

·
Registered
Rafiki 37
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here's how it's normally done. On one side of the mast (the fore in this case) alongside it, not above it. It's not like one can hold a perfect course and it will always be behind the mast and it shines through the sail to some degree.
I'll probably end up doing this rather than trying to build a mount on top of my sail. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
I'll probably end up doing this rather than trying to build a mount on top of my sail. Thanks!
The colregs found here http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/pdf/navRules/navrules.pdf Can give you some input.

Here is some quotes.

RULE 25
(c) A sailing vessel underway may, in addition to the lights prescribed in
paragraph (a) of this Rule, exhibit at or near the top of the mast, where they
can best be seen, two all-round lights in a vertical line, the upper being red
and the lower green, but these lights shall not be exhibited in conjunction
with the combined lantern permitted by paragraph (b) of this Rule.
ANNEX I
i)
(i) When the Rules prescribe two or three lights to be carried in a vertical
line, they shall be spaced as follows:
(i) on a vessel of 20 meters in length or more such lights shall be