SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 125 Posts

·
Registered
5,068 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Nowadays refrigeration on board is almost as common as a depth sounder, plotter or autopilot.
Boats may be made with a well insulated "ice box" which may even include an installed refrigeration system... or two boxes with one for a freezer. Many refer systems are installed by owners as an upgrade.

I am by no means an expert on refrigeration. I want this thread to be a discussion about options for refrigeration.

The refrigeration system should of course be informed by how the boat is used. Is it in a slip with available shore power, on a mooring with perhaps solar or wind or no alt power sources? Is the boat sailed off the grid and on ocean passages? How the boat is used, what sort of meals and beverages are consumed, the boat's architecture (and budget) will determine what sort of system is installed.

Refrigeration requires energy to remove heat... cool the box. Refrigerant systems use a gas which is compressed and becomes a very cold liquid. This liquid (refrigerant) is circulated to the box and absorbs heat from the box... or it might have air forced over it... circulating cold air into the box.... much as an AC circulates cold air into a warm room.

Some refrig systems use a "holdover plate" or cold plate which is located inside the box and acts like a block of ice. But as the "ice" is contained it does not melt. And the ice is not water ice but a eutectic solution which can make very very cold "ice". The cold compressed refrigerant as a liquid is circulated through the plate surrounded by the solution which freezes to ice well below 32° F (dry ice is well below water freezing temp at -100°F.