SailNet Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've recently purchased an old Westerly Nomad, and although engine has been working fine, I only ran it for about 10 hrs end of last year and I want to change both Primary and secondary fuel filters so that I know they have both been done.

Which one should I change first ?

I have never done this before, but think I understand the basics from watching youtube video's.

But my thinking is when I replace them I will possibly be disturbing sediment on the existing filters that might have built up.

Would it be best to replace the primary filter first, although this might be the dirtiest, and more chance to disturb sediment, it would be caught by the 2ndary.

get the engine started and run for 5-10 mins.

Then replace the 2ndary -> prime and restart.

Or would it be better to reverse the procedure, under the assumption that the 2ndary is the cleanest and least likely to disturb build up, then move onto the primary?

·
Registered
2,870 Posts
If you have two filters then the first one is an aftermarket one. many only use the stock Yanmar engine filter. with an after market filter in place the second filter is really not doing much at all. with the flow of a 1GM10 doubt you will even have anything in the second filter. I have stock and after market Racor on my 1GM10 and change both at the same time never have had a problem.

·
Banned
325 Posts
Overboard is right. First filter is aftermarket. Second is your yanmar. Your overthinking this. Just replace both. Then prime your fuel system. Little pump, you'll find it if you trace your fuel lines. And your good to go. You can fill the canister with ATF fluid to help with priming.

·
Remember you're a womble
2,328 Posts
Be careful with the primary, it's really easy to get the o-ring caught up, and don't go mad on the bleed screw. Both will result in leaks.

·
Registered
5,067 Posts