SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Full disclosure, I'm totally new to sailing. In fact, I've only been once. Long story short, I now have a old Cascade 29 that has been out of the water for 15 years. My question for you all (who know way more than me), is what's your thoughts on removing the inboard motor (Yanmar 2QM15 - a two cylinder 15 hp engine) and putting an outboard motor on the back? I believe I would have to put the outboard on an articulating bracket, and even when it was lowered into the water the handle might make contact with the aft of the boat? I'm not sure if there's a way to choose to mount a throddle control somewhere else? I'm also not sure how time intensive it would be for me to 'plug the hole' left by the prop shaft after removing the engine.
I'm considering it because it would give me more room for storage, and would be easier to access for maintenance in the long run (I believe). What's your guy's thoughts? Thank you!

-Jayson

·
Registered
4,860 Posts
A 29 is a bit big for an outboard. What's wrong with the Yanmar?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A 29 is a bit big for an outboard. What's wrong with the Yanmar?
JimsCAL thank you for responding! I haven't fired it up yet to 'discover' what's wrong with it - or if there's anything wrong with it at all. But I wouldn't know how to test it while it's out of the water in the first place. Maintenance goes about $120/hour where I live. So instead of potentially sinking money into an old engine, I am considering just getting a new motor, and the thought of an outboard would provide more space for storage. I also thought that having a prop out of the water (with the motor on an articulating arm) would provide less drag. But this is just theory - like I said, very new to all of this.

·
Registered
2,068 Posts