SailNet Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
1,295 Posts
Reaction score
36
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I seem to remember that many years ago, a boat sitting on a race course with her sails flapping in the breeze, so that they were not "full and drawing" had no rights.

I was just reviewing the rules and I can't find this rule. Now it seems that the only time a luffing boat has no rights is during a tack, from the time the boom crosses the centerline to the time the boat is on a close hauled course. And even then, its not clear to me that the sails have to be full to be on a close hauled course.

Have things changed, or am I just not looking hard enough?
 

· Registered
Joined
·
1,295 Posts
Reaction score
36
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Is the boat head to wind, or just have the sheets blown?

Luffing doesn't negate the fact they're on starboard and the overtaking boat must keep clear. Luffing at a start is an easy way to hold your spot in a competative OD fleet and used quite often.
He was not heat to wind, just had his sheets out and sails flogging.

It seems like a poor strategy, I like to hit the line at full speed when I start. But it used to be, a luffing boat had no rights.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
1,295 Posts
Reaction score
36
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Only thing you could do about it, is sail under them and try calling them up, but then you would've overtaken from astern and have no rights.
Well it was pretty easy to duck around him and harden up at the gun. He was practically sitting still, so all I had do do was come up to my proper course (right at the gun) and give him enough room - well, to sit still without hitting me I guess ;)
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top