SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I sail in the Delaware River which has a very strong tide current especially strong with all the rain we have had this year. The other day with a 10-15 mph wind blowing up river and the tide rising I was tacking,close haul, down river making great speed from bank to bank but losing ground going back up river. I finally had to drop my sails and motor back home. I have encountered this several times with good air not being able to make headway against a strong wind and current.
I have a theory that the keel on my 85 mac25 just doesn't have enough surface area to keep the boat from slipping sideways against a strong wind and current.
Has anybody experienced this problems or think my theory has merit ???

·
Banned
17,467 Posts
Hey Roe - welcome to SN dude. I was lucky enough to sail with Bubb (a longtime member here and a true salt) in the Hudson. Same kind of thing there, but I'm not experienced enough to know all the dynamics going on.

However, in that case, it sounds like what you were in. The current was amped up due to rains, and the tide was going out...so we weren't making much headway - even in his Bene 28 (a great boat). I just figured if the water is moving you way from point A, it's going to take A LOT of wind and great sail trimming to fight that - regardless of the keel.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
The condition of your sails could be your problem. How old are they? If they are as old asthe boat. New sails will make her truly sail, and get her off her ear........i2f

·
Registered
217 Posts
I highly doubt it is the keel. I would suggest you are dealing with simple vector math here.

I think it is related to your pointing ability, how close to weather can you get your boat and how fast? I would start to think about VMG and the current you are opposing.