SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've searched through previous roller furling threads and I have an issue I could use some help with that I don't think has been addressed yet? I'm new to having a roller furling unit and sailing a new-to-me 1980 41' Formosa.

My core issue is that I cannot get the unit to unfurl - the leech tape of the jib fouled around itself to the point where you can unfurl maybe 5-10 feet of the sail before it starts to furl back on itself. I can roll the sail all the way in, but can't get it past that 10' point.

Photo is attached. Slightly longer story, my last sail was in 20 kt winds and the stitching on the leech started to come undone, and when tacking it would rub against the stays and fray the leech, leaving long strands of threads dangling from the stays and the jib. Apparently, when furling the jib in during those winds, loose sections of the leech where the stitching pulled away got tangled in the sheet itself.

It's a wonky problem - I unfurl the jib for about 10' and it gets stuck. If I manually try to unfurl the sail at the roller furling drum, it will start to furl, but after 5' or so will start to wind back on itself.

You can see in the pic where it is fouled up the roller furler and the wisps of threads in the stays. Those threads are stronger than they might appear, especially with a few wraps together.

I think what's happened is that some of the stray threads have basically tied themselves in a knot in the high winds when furling the unit in. I didn't know anything was amiss until I went for a sail today and couldn't get the jib out. :-/

Any thoughts on how to solve this? I have some, but none of them seem very good.I think I have 3 basic choices -
  • go back out when the winds are 15-20 and hope that the force of the wind will break those threads loose and the sail will unfurl
  • rig something to go up the sail at the dock and cut the threads free by hand