SailNet Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
I'm new to Sailnet and sailing in general.
We have a beautiful 1984 C&C 29 MKII.

Late last season I began getting a vibration in my rudder as well as a faint thumping noise during tacks and turns.

The boat is on the hard. The radius, cables, chain, sheaves, rudder post etc all look great from below. I've greased the rudder post.

Unfortunately, turning the rudder manually results in the same rough turn throughout the entire rudder arc in both directions. The thumping noise persists.

I'm thinking bearings of course but has anyone in this forum encountered these symptoms and can you please share your solutions?

Thanks
Steve T.

·
Master Mariner
8,204 Posts
If the boat is on the hard, why not get a professional to take a look? It's pretty hard for us to imagine your problem w/o turning the rudder personally.

Reactions: 82Vanner

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well that certainly makes a lot of sense.

I have had a few people take a quick look.
Everyone has said if "lubricating the rudder tube doesn't correct it... (tube/rudder shaft was very dry), the rudder should be dropped"

I guess that's my next course of action. Just hoping to avoid the additional work. I'll post the results. Perhaps take a few pictures.

Thanks for your input and advice! Truly appreciated.

Steve T.

·
Registered
845 Posts
The bearing should be changed. The most difficult part is dropping the rudder. You either have to dig the ground under the rudder or raise the boat with a crane. The rest is easy.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hi there,

Thank you everyone for your help!
I do believe that the rudder must be dropped and the bearings replaced.

On my C&C 29 MKII, the top of the rudder extends through the cockpit sole....conventional and "normal".