SailNet Community banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to install an access hatch in my Cockpit floor so I have access to the back side of my motor and gear box. Was just wondering if anyone knew of any companies that makes a robust access hatch that can withstand weight of constantly being stood on?

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There is no problem with me installing one I'm actually better than a ship builder with what I do for a living if i wanted to I could get a sheet of 1/8'' aluminum and cut one out on the water jet and then add ribs to the underside but I rather see what's available to buy first. Just for sake of time

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

·
Sailor
935 Posts
There are hatches made for that. They are waterproof and come in deferent sizes. Just google them and see. Why reinvent the wheel?

Mandolin, Bayfield 36 sailing out of Rock Creek.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
██▓▓▒▒░&
13,641 Posts
A commercial product will probably be like the Bomar flush aluminum hatches. Round or square, something like $1500 US for 24", and then you'll still have to rebuild the cockpit floor to stiffen it up so the hatch doesn't distort.

They're out there, if you're willing to pay for them.

·
Once known as Hartley18
5,179 Posts
You don't say what kind of boat this is for, but, assuming it isn't a Brent-boat, the issue is that, for practical reasons, you'll most likely need something custom-built to get the best possible access in what is typically a trapezoidal-shaped space.

You could fit a Bomar or similar, but there will be a stack of compromises associated with it and you may find that only the most expensive ones are fully watertight with your cockpit flooded.