SailNet Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've recently moved to Chicago and I would like to find a good sailing opportunity for next year.

I don't own a boat of my own and would prefer to avoid the hassles that come with it. I'd like to be able to get regular access to a nice, functional ~32' boat at least once each week. I'd prefer not to spend a lot of money, but I realize that there is no way to avoid spending a fair bit of cash.

I've already identified a handful of clubs and organizations in the area:
Columbia Yacht Club
Sail Chicago
Chicago Sailing
Sail Time

Are there others I am forgetting? Are there any I should focus on or avoid? I have limited first-hand knowledge of the local clubs, so any guidance would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Lurker for some time, but this post motivated me to register.

I, too, am in Chicago and committed myself in 2015 to start learning to sail. I hope to one day circumnavigate the globe but, based on my reading, understand I'm quite far from that goal.

I participated in a meetup last season called the Keel Joys (meetup.com/Keel-Joys-Social-Sailing). I only went once, but it seemed like a good group of people. They have weekly sails with a BBQ after and the number of people who signup determines how many boats they rent. I'll probably do it next year but also intend to take lessons.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I have heard of gosailingchicago, but not used them myself. I worked with a school 3rdcoast cruising before that provides lessons is a less structured environment than ASA. I have no financial interests in any group. I can't really help with bareboat options as I haven't used any.