SailNet Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Born To Flock
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings.

I'm new to sailing but I've been reading posts on Sailnet for some time. In November, I bought a 1973 Macgregor Venture 21 sailboat as a starter to learn how to sail - with the hope and dream of stepping up to a 30+ foot boat/weekend home in San Diego in the next 2-3 years (once I gain some competence and confidence). Currently, I sail at Lake Pleasant near Phoenix, Arizona.

My sailing resume is pretty short at this point. In 2009, I rented a Hobie Cat while on vacation in Key West, Florida. The rental agent asked me if I had ever sailed before and I told him "No." So, he climbed on the boat with us, showed us the ropes for about 15 minutes and then jumped in the water and swam ashore. I loved it and we had a blast.

I didn't have the chance to sail again for a couple of years. During a weekend trip to San Diego, I convinced my wife that it would be a fun afternoon activity to rent a Hobie for a sail. They will rent a Hobie Cat to any idiot with a credit card and I was that idiot.

After checking in and paying for the rental, they took us to the boat to get us going. The rental agent again asked if I had sailed before and I said "Yes - once, but I really don't know what I'm doing." He showed me how to set the jib and the mainsail, handed me the tiller explaining that was how to steer and pushed us away from the dock. We sailed for a couple of hours and had a blast...until it was time to return to the dock. The wind was coming straight from the dock and I just could not get the boat to go in the right direction to return to the dock - and I certainly didn't want to tell my wife that information. After about 20 minutes of tacking back and forth (and not getting any closer to the dock), I finally copped to it and told her that I had no idea what I was doing.