SailNet Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all!

I am a Greek translator/subtitler, and I am currently subtitling a documentary about a young crew training for the Transpac race. When their instructor jumps overboard to help them prepare for this emergency, we hear one of the crew shouting:
Bearing off big time out of the sack!
I understand the first part of this phrase, "bearing off". But I can't find what "out of the sack" means here. Is it a sailing-related idiom, or just a general idiom?

Many thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
1,942 Posts
out of the sack is the same as out of bed

i would take that line as getting ready to make a big course change, and pay attention ( pay attention as in stop dosing or sleeping and wake up ). out of the sack is said to those who feel asleep

to go truely slang on it, man overboard, wake the F ^%$ up and hang on.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Scotty, for the quick answer!

Yes, it had occurred to me that it might be something like "wake up", because I know the idiom "hit the sack", but, then, I have met so many idioms in this documentary, that I wasn't sure anymore :)

·
Registered
2,705 Posts
I understand the first part of this phrase, "bearing off". But I can't find what "out of the sack" means here. Is it a sailing-related idiom, or just a general idiom?
Actually, I believe the correct term is "bearing away" not "bearing off".

As for the phrase - no I can't recall it ever being used in my sailing experience.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Actually, I believe the correct term is "bearing away" not "bearing off".
Yes, when researching this term I found out too that the correct was "bear away", but in the documentary it is heard more than once as "bearing off". These are young sailors.

·
Registered
5,491 Posts