SailNet Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan to sail from Miami to Bahamas this summer. This is my FIRST time leaving US and going to another country via boat. I want to go to Nasau. How do I find the procedures and locations for checking in? Are there any crazy fees? I have seen "cruising fee" mentioned regarding Bahamas. I am renting a bareboat cat, which may be considered a commercial vessel instead of a "pleasure boat" because it is hired. Everything is clear as mud and I don't want my vacation ruined because of some bureaucratic mix up on my part. I could probably spend days online and figure it out. But I am hoping someone here can be kind enough to help me shorten the learning curve.

My Plan... I would like to anchor somewhere along Paradise Island, take the dingy in, and do a day pass at Atlantis with my kids. Also cruise around the islands a couple days and return to Miami. Is this possible, or am I dreaming?

Any advice on this or other aspects of this plan would be appreciated. I don't know what I don't know :) .

·
Registered
1,940 Posts

·
Registered
Aloha 32 & Hunter 26.5
132 Posts
The boat rental company should have most of the information you need. The last I checked, a couple of weeks ago, you had to get a covid test sent from an approved US facility directly to the Bahamian government, then once they approve you (normally same day) you have 5 days from the time of the test to arrive & check in.

Keep in mind that the gulf-stream tends to push you north by a few knots, so leave from somewhere further south than the place you want to arrive. Also beware that when you have winds out of the north, the gulf stream can really kick up & get nasty. SW wind is preferred for that short crossing.