SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All
My name is Francis and I am a student at Dundee University. I need your help. I have entered into my final year studying product design and as a sailor for most of my life i would like to connect my hobby with my course. I am looking to create a product that has emotional attachment to the owner and is something that can be passed from generation to generation without the need for it to be through away or forgotten about. If anyone could tell me about parts of their boats/objects on, or in their boats that have this emotional attachment it would really help me out. It is quite an obscure question so if i have not described it enough please ask me more questions.
thanks
Francis

·
Asleep at the wheel
3,017 Posts
I'm refreshing/rehabbing my boat, so I'll have an emotional attachment to most of it, especially the hull. Are you looking to create something ornamental or functional? Some functional things, like the tool for opening the fuel/water/holding tank covers, might be good candidates, but others, like winch handles, probably won't be.

·
Administrator
5,915 Posts
... I am looking to create a product that has emotional attachment to the owner and is something that can be passed from generation to generation without the need for it to be through away or forgotten about...
Francis,

As described, this is impossible. I love my solar vent. If I sold the boat, I'd take it off and sit it on my mantle, maybe have the boat name engraved on it. My neighbor is especially fond of his winch handle and plans to leave it to his great grandson.

Everyone feels an attachment for something different on their boat so how can one product be created that covers everyone's emotional needs? Standard stuff like brass barometers that hung in grandpappy's wooden sloop that went around the world or the sextant that went to the South Pole, etc. have already been done.