SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a writer for The Boating Hub blog.

I'm constantly getting asked what qualifications and courses you need to learn to sail in various countries.

I was wondering if it was good idea to write a guide, explaining the qualifications needed to sail in each country worldwide.

It will take a lot of time, research and effort, but I'm hoping it will benefit budding sailors.

So, is it a good idea? Your opinion is appreciated :)

Lee.

·
Registered
178 Posts
I learned to sail as a little kid in a family of sailors. I don't get this courses and qualifications approach. I also spent one summer at a "sailing camp" and the first thing I was told to do was box the compass to 32 points. I guess that was a "qualification"?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Fair point WGEWald, 32 points, you've cracked it! :)

You can't sail in certain parts of the world without the right qualifications & licenses.. this guide would educate people on that.

·
Registered
178 Posts
You can't sail in certain parts of the world without the right qualifications & licenses.. this guide would educate people on that.
Are those requirements for charter, or for navigating in the waters of specific countries? What countries' customs officlals would demand proof of "the right qualifications" along with safety inspection? Looking forward to seeing your write-up.

http://www.theboatinghub.com/

·
Registered
765 Posts
Was once sailing with a German friend here in N. FL and he asked me if I had a sailing license and if so what kind it was. I said, "Yup, I got a 12 gage license down in the cabin." He answered, "you Americans and laughed"

·
3,506 Posts
After visiting 25 countries under sail, I can tell you that there were/are O, None, Nada qualifications required for a foreign cruising boat.

·
Water Lover
773 Posts