SailNet Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello!, I'm new to Sailnet and currently doing the trip of my life, since I did my first sailing voyage when I was a kid, I have been wishing to sail around the world and the time has come. Me and my soon to be wife are going to cruise from Florida to Panama and then head to French Polynesia, with Thailand as a final destination to become diver instructors on a little island called Koh Tao. We already sold everything and quit our jobs, our plan is to buy our own sailboat once we have enough experience.
Lucas Vicente

·
Administrator
5,924 Posts
Perhaps I read this incorrectly? You quit your job to sail around the world before you have enough money to sail around the world so now you're asking for handouts?

Perhaps the time has **not** come yet.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Well... I suppose you can look for a gig ON a boat where you could learn about the sea while getting paid. What do you have to offer to someone looking for crew? What is your skill set? One of the skippers in the current Volvo Ocean Race was asked about how to break into pro sailing. His point was to build your skills as well as your sailing experience.

·
Registered
1,608 Posts
As I mentioned before, we sold everything, so we have our savings, we just looking for advices, like Pardeys books, marine diesel engine troubleshooting and stuff like that.
OK, so you have your savings and you also have a web site where you are asking people to donate over $70,000 to help fund your dream.
Tell you what...how about you helping fund my dreams of retirement. I'm 61 and it looks like I will have to work until I'm 65.... Would love to do it at 63. how about sending a couple of thousand $$ my way.

My wife and i have been working hard for over 40 years. I think our dreams of retirement trumps your dreams of sailing around the world.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·