SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody know what sort of scarf joint i would use on a wooden mast? i just need to replace the bottom three feet or so. Also, what sort of strength am i losing in a scarf joint? should i just get a whole new spar?

·
Registered
5,112 Posts
How big is the mast?
how is it constructed. Solid, stave's, box etc.
What kind of wood.
What is wrong with the bottom 3 feet?

Pictures?

The answer will be different depending on your situation.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How big is the mast?
how is it constructed. Solid, stave's, box etc.
What kind of wood.
What is wrong with the bottom 3 feet?
No pictures. I don't actually own the boat, it's an impending purchase. The boat is on the other side of the state from me so its hard to get info that I forgot to check out last time I was there. The spar is solid and rectangular shaped. I'm no expert, but it will probably be doug fir. The boat is a 31 foot gaff ketch, so you can guess the length; I never measured. The bottom three feet is a little rotten.

·
Registered
5,112 Posts
I'm no expert, but it will probably be doug fir. The boat is a 31 foot gaff ketch, so you can guess the length; I never measured. The bottom three feet is a little rotten.
The kind of glue is very important.
Epoxy has been said to not be the best in this application.
resorcinol is the old standby but it does leave a glue line and needs a good fitting joint.
If you are putting bolts in I doubt if a glue line is a problem.
Sitka Spruce is considered very good.

Depending on the nature of the rot some properly scarfed in Dutchman may be stronger than chopping off the bottom. And can look cool too.

A half lap is going to loose some strength but may be OK since most of the force will be compressive near the bottom of the mast.

A fancy scarf joint will be stronger but harder to do right.