SailNet Community banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,704 Posts
With today's availability of processed and canned foods some of which are superb quality and very nice to eat, with amazing shelf life, I reckon the only people who would get scurvy at sea are those that actually want to and work towards it.

And I reckon there's not too many of them.

·
Cal 9.2 SilverSwan
302 Posts
If you drink "Pussers painkillers" you will never have to worry about acquiring scurvy. It is caused by a vitamin "C" deficiency, which can be found in citrus fruits, blackcurrents, guava, kiwifruit, papaya, tomatoes strawberries are one of the best, carrots, peppers, broccoli cabbage, spinach and is added to some candies and sort drinks. If all you had was salted pork, hard tack and rum/water, you would miss out on most of your vitamins needs...

·
Aeolus II
670 Posts
Is scurvey still a threat?

Back in the late 70s i worked as a photojournalist. One story I covered after I had been conoeing on the Potomac River just outside the Washington beltway. I discovered a man living on an island in the river only accessible by canoe.

A few days later, reporter and I went to meet this guy and learn his story. Seems he was living a very simple life, eating just peanut butter spread on homemade buckwheat pancakes made with boiled rain water. He had no vegetables and not other supplements; he was trying to learn if modern man could get scurvy. We met him after had had been living there for over 4 years, and still no scurvy.

As a side note, he was also working out PI manually to see if it ever did repeat (he believed it would but computers were part of a conspiracy to keep it secret). He was an interesting character that just might have needed some meds to nudge him back to the side of normal.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
<o:p> </o:p>

·
Irrationally Exuberant
1,460 Posts