SailNet Community banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

bell ringer
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say that I was a Navy Nuclear Trained Machinist Mate for 11 years and have packed many a pump.

I replaced my shaft seal with a packing gland this past week and installed it with 4 rings of DuraMax Ultra-X packing. At boat launch the gland was just touching the packing and water was of course running out of it, which I wanted to be sure it was getting water. The motoring trip from the yard back to the slip was about 1.5 hours and during that I tightened up the gland a couple of times and it was still dripping 1 drop/5 sec and was cool to touch.

In a perfect world I would continue to make small adjustment over hours till I was getting a 1-2 drops/min and the gland was still cool. But that wouldn't be possible for a few weeks and in the meantime that gland is just dripping away.

So I was thinking of tightening it till it stops dripping sitting here in a slip, making sure that I can still turn the shaft my hand and later when I get ready to get underway to loosen it back up some and then slowly make adjustments.

How do others do this adjustment when not motoring (for the dinosaur types still using packing)?

Super Moderator
Farr 11.6 (Farr 38)
When I had packing glands, I would sit in the slip with the engine running in gear, and note the drip rate over a 5 or so minutes. I would then stop the engine, and make the adjustments and repeat again, and repeat again, etc. until I got to a rate that I could live with, and which was not dripping unless the engine was running.