SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was talking to a friend today,and he told me the Chesapeake isn't good for sailing.It seemed odd to me as I've been crabbing and Power Boating there for many years and see a ton of SailBoats.This is an area I hope to sail in so I thought I'd get some educated answers,plus what is a good Starter sailboat for there ?

·
Sailor
929 Posts
The Chesapeake is a wonderful place to sail. The wind is typically light and variable late July and August and you get late day thunder storm but there is a great sailing community and lots of places to go. I would look for a shallow draft (less than 6') boat with a lot of sail area on the light side for best performance. Many of the production cruising-racing boats fulfill these requirements.

Good luck!
Tod

Reactions: Rapp

·
Sailor
929 Posts
Spring and fall have the best winds; warm weather holds well into October and the winds are the best in the fall too!

Tod

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What was his reasoning behind the statement?
I didn't ask him,I guess I should have,I know he's a powerboater and has a boat he stays on in the northern Chesapeake,he said he loves to sail,but I don't know him to have a sailboat.I'm glad I don't believe everything I hear.

·
Registered
3,958 Posts
I tell everyone I meet that the sailing on the Bay stinks (;)).

1500 miles of shoreline, depending on how you measure. More if you count the rivers. I think few people have seen even most of it.

·
Administrator
Farr 11.6 (Farr 38)
9,585 Posts