SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Love my old 24 foot keelboat that I keep at the marina year round. But moorage is almost out of my budget. Also I think of simplifying - engineless, smaller, able to step the mast myself etc... So the boats I usually think of include Drascombe, Norseboat, Farrier Tramp, and the local Gig Harbor Boatworks lineup as well all of which would require a trailer with which I have zero experience. I occasionally read about the issues trailers run into with the bearings, seals, corrosion, electric etc etc.... How much of a headache is it though? For a small boat and a small trailer is it a hassle to maintain at all? Being able to drive down to the marina and be on the water fifteen minutes later is great, but maybe won't be a luxury I feel like paying for much longer. Any thoughts out there?

·
1968 Columbia 50
Columbia 50
580 Posts
When we had a trailer sailor, it took us about an hour to set up the rig and launch the same to break down, this was a Catalina 22. Was a pita, but it got us on the water. We kept the boat in our driveway, but that is something you have to consider, where to keep it. Trailer maintenance, we did that in the driveway as well, and that was convenient, to have it right there. We just rinsed the boat/trailer at home. We did keep ahead of maintenance issues, on things such as bearings. Many people trailer their boats, usually powerboats by a large margin, without any issues, until there is one.

·
Registered
24,494 Posts
Axle bearings are the number one thing with the trailer itself. Especially, if you'll need to get to near highway speeds for any length of time. I just recently saw a poor guy on the side of the road, pacing around his trailer staring at the wheels. No doubt they started to squeal or something.