SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Administrator
Farr 11.6 (Farr 38)
9,761 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over in the Pro's and Con's of Steel Boat thread, there has been a wide range of off-topic discussion. Earlier there was a post by Lou452, which asked some interesting questions, but which were off the themes of the thread. (It is not his fault since there probably is more off topic discussion than on topic within that thread.)

But for sometime now, I have been thinking of creating a thread which is intended to provide a place to discuss, "What about this idea?".

You know how that goes, you start thinking to yourself, "Hey wouldn't be great if boats were this way?" or "Gee, I wonder why no one builds boats like this?" I thought it would be fun and interesting to hear people's ideas of that sort and be able to discuss them. I hope Lou does not mind, but I have copied his post below to kick this off.

I know I am still new to sailnet and sailing. That is why some of my thoughts my seem like they come from Mars. It is nice when I get someone to explain. I also love this Sailnet Community because It presents real sailors with up to date conversation and knowledge. I reed a few sailing mags and always have a book going but sailnet has multiple views at all times.
I like the idea of a single mast. K.I.S.S I think 32- 36 foot is about the biggest I could ever feel In control. If you get a rig much bigger would you start to need more high tech machinery. Winches that are electric. The Anchor on a boat bigger than this could not be man handled ? I see they single hand 60 foot of boat solo around the world These men and women very exceptional rare talented individuals ? Those boats are top of the line.
I am still on the idea a boat should not sink. In some ways it took a lot for me to understand how a wood boat sinks. I thought that a wood boat just broke up but now I know they go to the bottom like they are made of steel. The HMS Bounty underlines this.