SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Catalina 25 with a roller furling.

I have never used a spin sail before ( but kinda understand the use ).

Since I have a roller in the front, I don't have the normal "metal line" that goes to the top of the mast for sails.

Do some boats have more than one "metal" line ( what is the name? ).

Or am I way off?

·
19,489 Posts
If you want to get into spinnaker sailing there's a lot of gear to buy - the halyard for the spinnaker needs to be installed, you'll need a pole and its control lines, and of course the sail itself. All new this could run you a fair bit of money.

From your questions so far I'd suggest that you find some good books on sailing and sailing terminology so that we can better answer your questions!

·
Midwest Puddle Pirate
2,160 Posts
The asymmetric cruising spin will cost about the same, but has a little less hassle installing an flying it. A traditional spin requires a pole, pole topping lift, and a pole downhaul. You'll also need to store the pole, usually with pole mounts that attach to your lifeline stanchions. Then there's more work involved with flying the spin with a pole. First you have to set up the pole, which means attaching it to your topping lift and downhaul, and clipping it to the mast ring and the guy (the sheet that goes on the windward side is the guy) You'll have 2 lines to play (the sheet and the guy), plus adjustments to the topping lift and downhaul.

An asymmetric spin has only the downhaul that attaches to the tack, and 2 sheets at the clew. Spin Sets and takedowns are a little easier as you don't have the pole to deal with. The other difference is that the A-spin cannot sail dead downwind. A-spins tend to be a little faster though, as evidenced by having to take a lower phrf rating with an A-spin.

·
Registered
9,378 Posts
Seems a bit daunting..
Can I use a spin sail when sailing solo?

A poled out spinnaker - unlikely