SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I posted a week ago about how I inadvertantly ruined my batteries by storing them improperly. So I inquired with my marina's service center about getting replacement batteries installed.

Since I'm still learning about batteries and how much is enough, I thought I'd share with everyone here what the service center is recommending.

To give a point of reference, I weekend cruise Western Lake Erie. My boat is a Beneteau 361 with a Westerbeke 30bThree diesel engine.

What is coming off the boat is one Group 24 House battery; and two 4D batteries, one of which is the starting battery.

The service center is recommending a Crown Battery 4D C4D1000 as the starting battery (1000 CCA), and a Crown Battery 24T-800 (75Ah, 550 MCA) as the house battery.

It seems to me that the 4D should work just fine as a starting battery, but I wonder if the Group 24 with the 75 Ah would be adequate as the house battery. It very may well be though. When we do anchor out, we'd only run the lights and water pump, maybe the microwave. We do not have AC, Heat, or a Fridge. Under way we'd use instruments (depth, wind, speed, and iphone chartplotter).

So what do you think? Would this set up be adequate? :)

·
Registered
393 Posts
The cost difference between Group 24, 27 and 29 isn't a whole lot, and in terms of capacity, more is better. The higher the house battery capacity, the lower your depth of discharge should be, on an average outing. This will pay off in longer battery life.
I don't have a diesel, so I'll defer to others on the starting battery. For My Sweet Girl, I put in two group 29s for the house bank, and have a single 27 for starting, but then an A4 probably has much lower CCA needs than your diesel.

·
Registered
2,172 Posts