SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, this my first post so I thought I'd introduce myself. I am an old man (even by travellineasy's reckoning). I may be old but I will not "go gently in to that dark night", nor will I be the boat that never sailed. I race crewed and owned my own 26 footer but swallowed the hook 30 yrs ago. Now I will spit it up so, like John Masefield:
"I must go down to the see again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
and all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."

So the hunt for my tall ship begins. I have been trolling through yachtworld for a couple of years as well as being an avid reader of Sailnet for several years. I will base myself out of Clear Lake or Corpus Christi TX. I have a few boats in mind that I will be viewing next week in the area.

Coming from Britain, I have always admired the ornamental brickwork on the old houses so I am looking at an ornamental brick: Hans Christian 33. Alternatively I might go for something lighter and faster: IP35. Then again, there is something to be said for the Moody 34, being British and all. Finally, something that should really satisfy my quirky eccentricity: a Freedom 40 cat ketch (I know: cored hull, I have read the threads).

I am not asking overtly for comment, but please feel free to let loose. I do have the English sense of humour: the art of the studied insult. So, have at it as long as it is good.

I really wrote this to say thank you for all the wonderful threads/post that I have been privileged to read these last several years. My thanks must go specifically to Smackdaddy for his write up of his buying/fixit process.

Thank you all very much. I raise a dark and stormy to you all from the high Chihuahua desert.

Paul

·
Daniel - Norsea 27
1,258 Posts
Welcome to the group. I have only visited the Clear Lake area, where I did sailing lessons a few years ago and really like that area.