SailNet Community banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to sailing and am having trouble with the terminology,I have a C&C 27 mark 2 and am looking at new sails for it. the sites say rig height is 35 feet but when I measure my mast it is 33 feet from top to bottom.
Am I measuring wrong?
Thanks

·
██▓▓▒▒░&
13,641 Posts
Lynn, there are measurement guides online with pictures for all the dimensions, and EVERY reputable sail loft will have those same diagrams on their web site. If the guys you are dealing with don't--that's not a good sign.

They also should be willing and able to work with you on the phone and answer any questions, because that's the only way sails get made right. Any niggle of a communications problem often means the sails will be cut wrong. So, caveat emptor.

If your mast is deck stepped, the height should be from the top of the mast, excluding any masthead truck or other fitting, to the very bottom of the mast--not to any foot or fitting it may rest in. Ditto if the mast is keel-stepped, but you may have to measure below the floor boards to find out how long it really is.

Rig height may vary with the production model (I don't know the C&C 27) but there are probably "light air" versions with taller masts, and other versions with shorter masts, and from "Mark 1" to "Mark 2" similar changes again. Over the years, a lot of that information gets confused, so you'd need to check with other owners, check with other lofts, check online to see if any of that might be it.

If nothing else adds up, and you mast is simply "wrong" then it means someone replaced it over the years. That's not uncommon, and it means you need to very carefully measure every dimension of the rig and sail, to get sails that will fit the rig you actually have.