SailNet Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
17,467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been sailing for almost 6 years. I've owned two boats...a Catalina 27 (which is at the bottom of Lake Travis - long story...and a Hunter 40 which is standing proud in Galveston Bay ready to take me and the boys to the Carib).

I'm on the boat tonight. Working on some things that need attention. And I suddenly felt it. That "thing"...

I'm starting to understand this very complex machine. It doesn't overwhelm me as much as it used to. And that should be a great tonic to the newb. If I can feel it...you can.

Sure...there's a world of stuff I need to learn (I'm still a newb)....but, overall, I get it. I know what she needs. And that's very, very cool. That's the essence of BFS. You suddenly know your boat.

When did you get that "special thing"?

·
Wandering Aimlessly
22,036 Posts
I think you first have to feel overwhelmed or over your head, so to speak, to arrive at such an epiphany. For me, it's just been a process of learning new skills, or refining one's I already had, that gives me a growing sense of confidence in my ability to deal with whatever needs dealt with.

I went in, believing I could handle owning and living on a boat (though not that I knew it all), so I never felt overwhelmed by what needed done. And that's not a knock on other people, it's simply part of my personality and experiences.Different people grow their confidence in different ways. The main thing though is to learn and do.

·
Registered
25,126 Posts
Very cool Smack. Feels great. I start by trying to do all the maintenance that I can. After I've done it once, I may hire someone the next time. This way, you really get a sense of her systems and set up. Then, there is no substitute for going on a cruise for a week or two or more. Move about as frequently as practical, anchor, dinghy to shore, provision, cook aboard, etc. You'll be one with the universe when you get back.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts