SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a new member I hope this is not a redundant topic.
My wife and I have been vacationing in the Carolinas for many years and would now like to purchase a vacation residence and ultimately retire to the area.
My primary water activities are sailing and scuba so ease of access ( this does not necessarily have to mean on the water) is of primary concern.
Access to biking trails is also a plus.
Form a sailing perspective, can anyone provide some wisdom in the Carolinas areas most conducive to sailing in terms of easy of use (access).
Currently most of my time is spent on a small open trimaran.
Thanks to all.

·
Registered
539 Posts
Lots of places to choose from, depending on what you're looking for. Wilmington or Charleston for more developed areas and the amenities that go along with that. Beaufort/Morehead City for a nice area with a good inlet for ocean access, great seafood. Then there's the Pamlico/Neuse area, with Washington, Oriental, Ocracoke, New Bern and other neat places to sail and visit. That's just for a start!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Carolinas

SecondWindNC
Thanks for your reply
The multitude of possibilities you describe is part of the problem for someone like me who is not familiar with the area in terms of sailing.
I am used to pushing off from the shore, it appears that one should belong to a yacht/sailing club and be prepared to negotiate for right of way through the canals with much larger craft or be content in sailing the sounds and rivers for extensive stretches to make the big water. Yes?

·
Registered
539 Posts