SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I just started my search for the perfect (for me) used sailboat and I am hoping to gleam some good ideas and suggestions for everyone. This will be my 3rd sailboat so I am not a complete novice but I am also far from a world class voyager. My parameters are:
1. Fixed keel with a draft closer to 4 feet than 5 feet
2. Bridge clearance less than 50 feet is a must
3 Two comfortable double-berths (wife appeal)
4. Keel or skeg hung rudder
5. Single mast rig
6. Price limit under $120k
My search so far has landed me on boats in the 35-37 foot range. My favorites to date in order of preference are:
1. Island Packet 350
2. Cabo Rico 34
3. Com-Pac 35
4. Calaber 35 LRC
Even though I do not plan to venture into open oceans beyond a possible crossing to the Bahamas, I want a boat capable of more extensive crossings. I look forward to all comments and opinions.

·
Registered
557 Posts
findrichard,

Have you considered a Nor'Sea 27? Works for all you want including capable of going around the world. AND, can go to weather at 55 MPH. Costs less to sail and way less not to sail. We sailed the San Francisco Bay area last year, will be sailing New Orleans (for Mardi Gras) and on to Florida starting in Feb. Who knows next time.....:D

We lived aboard full time for years! :)

Greg

·
19,488 Posts
Moving away from the attached rudder requirement will open up a lot more options.. esp with a nice budget like that..

But given your list the Caliber LRC stands out for me.

·
no longer reading SailNet
2,309 Posts
35' boat, 50' bridge clearance, with a single mast seems like a tough set of parameters. How important is sailing performance?

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Greg,