SailNet Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
FYI: This Site has been, and will continue to be of great help to me, and others like me, because of you. You are what make the Internet worthwhile for me.
I am the guy that is buying his first sailboat with a dream, sponging up information; admittedly. I am the guy that doesn’t know a backstay from an anchor rode. The best contribution I can make, for anyone at this point is to let you know I am reading those of you that are posting good information, and let you know how much I, and I am sure others appreciate that. I am learning a lot. Maybe someday I’ll be a contributor.
I am an Airplane Pilot (not new), and Pilots are open and very willing to help junior Pilots. One thing I’ve learned here is that the Captains of a Vessel @ zero feet feel the same way. In the sky or on the Sea, our vessels are our containers of life.

Favorable winds and Blue Skies to ya,

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Welcome aboard! There are a lot of knowledgeable, helpful folk here, so feel free to ask questions. If you can't find what you want in the sub-fora, you can google a topic like this:

"best anchor" site:http://www.sailnet.com/forums/

1) Use the quote marks or you'll be swamped with irrelevant hits based on the individual words in your search phrase.

2) No [space] between site: and the url

3) "best anchor" is a joke; anchor threads are infamously notorious for the ......liveliness..... of discussion they generate. They can be enlightening and entertaining as long as you don't take them too seriously.

Clear skies & soft landings.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Manatee,
I love your picture of the day and often wonder what would it be like to go sailing in that sea!
John
Very peaceful, I should think. :)

I remember reading an Arthur C. Clarke story years ago about a race of solar-sail-powered yachts -- "Sunjammer" is the title. Always thought that would be a great way to get about the Solar System.