SailNet Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I am studying more about nav lights and the USCG rules. In one of their documents it states: A black ball day shape must be displayed by ALL vessels when anchored during the day.

True or false and if true, I see a ton of vessels not displaying this. My sailboat is 26' if that matters. I understand the other nav rules fine and the all around anchor light at night but just have to wrap my head around the anchor ball rule and the inverted cone rule.

Keep in mind I am new to sailing, bought an O'Day 26 and fixing it up this year and will launch next spring. I have the mast down now and was thinking about changing out the mast head light to LED. I have already replaced all 5 lights in the cabin to LED and installed a new fuse panel.

Oh and regarding the all around light, my bow and stern lights are on the rails but an all around light by rule is supposed to be a meter higher than those lights--really? If so that means I buy a 3 foot long removable all around light to be within this ruling when anchored at night.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts

·
Old enough to know better
4,345 Posts
Day shapes are not used much, at least around me. In fact I have never seen one. I know there are those around here that say they use them, I just have not seen it.

·
Registered
5,071 Posts
In admiralty court, if another boat crashes into you when you dont have the proper dayshape (anchor ball) aloft, you are assessed more contributory damage penalties (percent) towards the cause of the mishap. Case law in admiralty court seems to support such - AFIK.

·
Master Mariner
9,206 Posts
My understanding of the anchoring day shape is this;
Anchored; Ball > 7m (not in channel) > 20m (in anchorage).

·
Registered
4,721 Posts