SailNet Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks:

I'm new to sailboats and was wondering about a pulley.

I was looking at the masthead today and tracing the stays and marking them with colored tape so I can re-mount them later. I have an exterior pulley on the mainsail part of the mast I don't know what to do with.

I think it's either a boom support, or the mainsail lift.

This boat comes with genoa,jib and main. The jib/genoa(I'm assuming it uses the same sheet)is easy, it's the one in the front of the mast

I have two pics included.

Thanks for the help.

Attachments

·
Living the dream
350 Posts
Your pulley is called a "block" on a boat and the ones integral with the mast are called "sheaves"

Anyway, if that block is located on the rear of the mast it is most likely for a "topping lift". This is a line used to hold the end of the boom up when the mainsail is down or otherwise not installed. If the block is at the front of the mast it would be used for flying a spinnaker or similar sail.

Is the boat a trailer sailer? It could also be used as part of a mast raising rig.

·
19,488 Posts
... and these would be 'halyards', or possibly a topping/boom lift, not 'sheets'.

Sheets are used to trim the sails. ;)

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Your pulley is called a "block" on a boat and the ones integral with the mast are called "sheaves"

Anyway, if that block is located on the rear of the mast it is most likely for a "topping lift". This is a line used to hold the end of the boom up when the mainsail is down or otherwise not installed. If the block is at the front of the mast it would be used for flying a spinnaker or similar sail.

Is the boat a trailer sailer? It could also be used as part of a mast raising rig.