SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Reaction score
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 63 years old, a US citizen and a resident of Costa Rica for the past year.
I speak rudimentary Spanish(that is I improving rapidly) and am physically very active in CR. I have several whitewater boats and spend several days a week on rivers here. I worked in a corporate environment in the US and am used to working as part of a team, taking and giving orders when necessary.
In the US I owned a Catalina 34 for 13 years. The boat was sold when I relocated to CR. I am currently looking for a smaller boat to bring down here eventually. I sailed the Catalina on the Tennessee River system lakes and spent 3 summers on the Great Lakes cruising and 2 winter seasons in south Florida. Costal and inland sailing has been my only experience.
I am capable of performing simple motor and system troubleshooting and repair/maint. on boats but I have no experience with watermakers. I am some basic navigational skills but am not fully competent. I am a reasonable cook and can handle on deck tasks with confidence.
I want to gain some extended cruising experience and am looking for passage from a Gulf port to Central America in the late fall of 2015. I can commit about 6 weeks to the passage. I can provide all my personal and safety gear and will consider a split on expenses. I am a sailor by preference but would consider a trawler.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.