SailNet Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to sailing correctly. I haven't even bought a boat yet but I am researching it and when I do, I want to be extremely prepared. Right now I would like to know how to use charts and how to plug numbers into my hand held garmen to get to a specific location. Any good advice or good sites to teach me Ocean map reading 101. I am located off the southern coast of texas near Port Lavaca TX. Thank you.

·
Registered
S2 7.9 Bear Lake, UT
2,691 Posts
Library

You've got a GPS already, then you don't need to understand charts, you actually won't need charts with a GPS.

Learning to read and understand charts is not easy to do, not impossible, I just don't think you are going to learn it online.

Time to hit the library and check out every book you can find on sailing. Find out which ones make sense to you and go out and buy them. My sailing library overflows from 2 shelves. Two quick references for you to start out with is Annapolis book of Seamanship or Chapman Piloting, also Don Caseys inspecting the aging sailboat or "complete sailboat maintenance manual". Go buy a chart of your cruising area as well to help study and start daydreaming with. Its a great way to learn and get you excited about your home waters.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Take a USCG Power Squadron course on boating. The basic has an introduction to boating, safety, rules of the road and basic navigation.
They also offer advanced navigation courses, some conducted on the water.

USPS Educational Department

·
Registered
2,249 Posts
get Nigel Calder's book "How to Read Nautical Charts". And the post above that if you have a GPS you dont need to know this is wrong. First, GPS maps are based on nautical charts and use many of the same symbols. Second, GPS's sometimes break and you need to have a chart handy when they do.

·
Registered
9,378 Posts
I am not sure about US requirements.