SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a Tazer 22 sailboat and "apparently" the jib is too short and won't raise all the way. (I say apparently because 6 people couldn't figure it out)

The specifications in the manual call for a 110 sq ft jib, so I googled it and found a 110 for a decent price but it came off a Catalina. I'm no sailboat expert (which you probably figured out) but I know there's multiple ways to cover 110 sq ft and I'm wondering if there is some kind of design standard that sail makers follow? In other words, can I use the Catalina sail?

http://www.tanzer22.com/Home/library/tanzer-22-owners-manual

Attachments

·
Registered
846 Posts
I am not familiar with any of the boats. But area is only the result of the two dimensions. One is the hight of the mast from the boat and the other one is the distance of the head (front of the boat) to the mast base. These are I and J dimensions. You have to check these dimensions of your boat and the dimensions of the offered sail.

·
19,484 Posts
Some used sail sellers will list luff length as well - obviously the luff length cannot be longer than your forestay length - but should be about 3-6 inches shorter to allow for stretch.

Having a smaller jib that is not full hoist is not that big a deal.. if it's in good shape I wouldn't sweat it too much as long as it's not too extremely short.

There are several sites that will list the relevant I, J, P, E dimensions of most rigs of most designs out there. Finding comparable dimensions between boats will mean sails off those other boats may fit. Here's a diagram from Sailboatdata.com that defines these dimensions:

http://sailboatdata.com/rig_diagram.htm

It's also possible that a sailmaker can make minor modifications to improve the fit (or the shape) of old or used sails. These costs are usually minimal but beware of spending money on a sail that's seen the last of it's 'decent' days.