SailNet Community banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm new to the SailNet community, but have spent a lot of time reading the forums here. I am about to close on a boat later this week and have a question regarding a vhf antenna.

The vessel is a 1975 Irwin 30 and although I see it has a fixed mount vhf, I did not notice any vhf antenna. From what I have read, most suggest mounting the vhf antenna on the masthead. My questions are:

1) Which is cheaper...bringing down the mast and doing the installation myself or having someone install it on a bosun chair? Any other installation options?

2) What would be the cost for installation?

3) Is this something that the marina mechanic or personnel can perform? The vessel is at a wet slip at McCotters Marina in Washington, NC.

·
Registered
3,268 Posts
congrats on the new to you boat. you may be jumping the gun a bit. there is most likely an antenna somewhere on the boat. does the radio work? does it have a backstay antenna. my previous boat had a coiled antenna on the mast head that was about 10" long and very hard to see from the deck. i now have the antenna on the stern pulpit and it works just fine for coastal cruising

·
No more curry buffets
423 Posts
Overbored is doubly correct. Congrats, and, why not test the radio? Listen to 16 for a half hour, and you'll get a sense of how far away you can receive. Then go to a working channel and ask for a radio check with location feedback from responders. You should get something like 7 miles-ish from a good setup.

If that doesn't work and you do in fact need an antenna, pull the mast. You can then do a nice job by yourself. It's not hard.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Seatow has an automated radio check on channel 27 in Washington. Just call in and it repeats what you said back to you.

·
big dreams, little boat.
37 Posts