SailNet Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and I have been sailing with our local club in Toronto for several years. I passed my intermediate course. We know what we want in our first boat.

We want a MacGregor 26 - because we want it
- big enough to overnight in, and
- trailerable, because we will get bored of Toronto harbours quickly.
We like the "sailing lifestyle" just as much as we like sailing. (We're not sailing purists by any means.)

I'm looking at Macs but nothing is less than 15K, and many are waaay more expensive. I guess our budget may be unrealistic.

I keep turning up 25s, but they're just too small. Those are day sailers. But I don't know, maybe our first boat will be a 25-footer for about $5K.

I've been researching how to assess a boat and, of course, will get a pro surveyor.

I see the cost of a boat drops when it is 25+ years old. That's because of the insurance right? Should I be concerned about this? Avoid them?

How are the older 26' Macs? Anything I should know?

Additionally, I have only just begun to look into all the operating costs - in-water mooring vs. dry sailing, club fees, over-winter fees, upkeep fees, etc.

I guess I'm just looking for general advice, maybe the kind that says 'you can do it!!' ;)

·
Registered
994 Posts
You might look into a 26S or a 26X... depends on how fast you want to go... ">

I have a 1988 26D.. the PO kept it in GREAT SHAPE>.... nevertheless... I wanted to do some mods and change some things - when I got it....

Trailer condition is important...

You might want a new - or nearly new motor... 9.9 hp...

I HIGHLY recommend the 26D, 26S or 26X - in corresponding increased cost...

For us - the budget was about 6K for the boat, 2K for a motor, 700 on bottom job/paint.. 500 on Bimini, and about 2.5K on misc items... so We can take our boat out on lakes and the ocean - and feel reasonably secure..