SailNet Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Westerbeke 30, 4-91 British Leyland block. I am looking for a replacement regulator for my original Motorola M12N51 alternator. I took the regulator off and could not read the numbers. I have the original wiring schematic, and i took #11550 for the regulator off of it. When searching the web I came up with Torrenson Westerbeke #11550 for 75$......
Or.....
Ebay:
Alternator Regulator Motorola Prestolite 12N A 8AL Ha MA | eBay
I have no experience with these. Is there a marine and non-marine application, and does it affect my purchase choice?
Also..does this marine application require the regulator housing to be
grounded?
Or.....any ideas on another source? Perhaps a source that also sells parts for the Motorola if I decide to go through it again?
Thanks!

·
Registered
2,501 Posts
Santa :

Marine and automotive applications are the same. Just keep the regulator dry and you will be OK.
The regulator will almost certainly have an earth wire included with it and it needs to be grounded.
The regulator compares the output voltage from the alternator's rectifier (rectifying the alternator's AC to DC) to a set internal voltage (typically about 14.2 V, or so), and if it is too low, the regulator routes some more current to the spinning rotor of the alternator via the alternator brushes, so strengthening the magnetic field of the rotor and recovering the voltage. If the voltage rises too high, the regulator reduces the current to the rotor again. It is a switching arrangement within a wee solid state controller, and it is constantly switching back and forth at high speed.
Most alternators have the rectifier built in to them.
Some alternators have the regulator built in to them also.
Your regulator is an external unit.