SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I just purchased an older 15' Designers Choice sailboat. It has a Main, a Jib, and a center board. I am looking for suggestions on a good book that will give me the basics to get started. My sailing experience is limited to a Sunfish many moons ago, so any suggestions would be most appreciated.

·
Registered
62 Posts

·
Master Mariner
9,225 Posts
Royce's Sailing Illustrated is by for the best, most fun, most informative and most likely, cheapest book on sailing, on the market. I have been using it for more than 50 years to teach people the basics on through to things like anchoring and spinnaker rigging and handling. No preaching here, just good info laid out in a fun format.

Reactions: oysterman23

·
Registered
62 Posts
Royce's Sailing Illustrated is by for the best, most fun, most informative and most likely, cheapest book on sailing, on the market. I have been using it for more than 50 years to teach people the basics on through to things like anchoring and spinnaker rigging and handling. No preaching here, just good info laid out in a fun format.
I'd like to purchase this book, but there are so many variations. Can you give me the specific one you have?

·
Registered
2,266 Posts
Any reputable instruction book will work fine.

No one I know of has failed to learn to sail because they bought the 'wrong' book. They're all "good enough", I think, when you're starting out. More a matter of personal preference as to which one will serve you better as you get more advanced..

And once you get out and sail, with or without an instructor, you'll go back ashore and discover the book is "right"--who knew? ;-)

·
Master Mariner
9,225 Posts
I'd like to purchase this book, but there are so many variations. Can you give me the specific one you have?