SailNet Community banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a spinnaker that came with the boat that I bought this year and I'm wondering how I can tell what kind it is? Symetrical, assymetrical, cruising?

I had it out of the bag for the first time and spread it in the back yard yesterday just to take a look. I'm still learning to handle the jim and main in my sloop rig but getting more and more curious about trying the spinnaker. From what I've been reading much depends on what kind I have.

It came with a spinnaker pole and the sheets and looks like it has everything else rigged to fly it. I'd just have to figure out what it all does.
Mike

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
Go out on a friend's boat that has a spinnaker and learn from him.

Just make sure that he isn't the "Capt Ron" or "Capt Wolf Larsen" type of person. :laugher

·
Registered
5,680 Posts
If it's intended for use with a spin pole, it's likely a conventional symmetrical spinnaker.

If you have space to spread it out on the lawn, you can often tell merely by the shape. A symmetrical spinnaker will be shaped like an isosceles triangle. An asymmetric chute will be more like a scalene right triangle.

·
19,488 Posts
If it came with a pole, it's most likely a symmetrical spinnaker. Boasun's idea is a good one, go out with someone, or take someone along, who knows how to handle a kite. You'll learn more in a day than in several mistrials.

If that's not possible, try not to choose a day with REALLY light winds.. it makes it very difficult to keep the sail flying and will lead to frustration and no realization of whether or not you're doing something right or wrong. A nice 10 knot breeze is about ideal, by the time you're heading downwind-ish there's not much pressure left but enough to learn the ropes.