SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's a new kind of boat to me and my research doesn't define it the way I like things to be defined. Best I can find is it's an old fashioned boat, flat bottomed with swing keel and rigged about any way but sloop. Can somebody say "a sharpie is... " and tell me what it means to be a "sharpie"?

It intrigued me because I'm just learning and not sure what I want in a boat. All I've sailed is a Lido 14 so far but I will be in the market for a 20-something foot boat to learn on, mostly in bay sailing.
thanks,
mike

·
Registered
5,680 Posts
Mike,

I can't exactly say "a sharpie is" - it's one of those "i know it when I see it" boats.

They have been around for along time -- their history goes back a long way here on the US East Coast, where they were originally developed in New England as work boats for shallow tidal waters. But I guess I would not necessarily refer to all of them as "old fashioned." There are many modern sharpie designs that are fairly refined and improved.

Besides shallow draft, they usually wear an unstayed ketch or yawl rig. However, I've seen some that were single-mast, cat-rigged. Also, I have seen examples that used leeboards instead of a swing keel/centerboard.

Another new member, ddriver, has been looking at sharpies a bit too. He posted the link below over in another thread. This Australian designer seems to offer a whole range of sharpies with cabins. But there are others out there -- I wouldn't be surprised if someone like Phil Bolger had a half dozen or more sharpie offerings -- many of them daysailer/camp-cruiser style without fixed cabins.

Norwalk Island Sharpies

·
1,000 Posts
Where I come from, the Sharpie is a 6 meter (12 sq meter sail area) German designed race boat, much like the Flying Dutchman. It was an Olympic boat until 1956, but replaced in 1960 by the Flying Dutchman