SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a beginner and was thinking of BVI but possible bad weather is a concern. Does anyone have a recommendation for a good place for a beginner to go in August? I'm pretty flexible travel wise. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
Friends love the San Juans in the N.W. Pacific, or are you looking for tropical? If so then below the hurricane zone in the Caribbean. Check out the South Pacific, Tahiti, Tonga, etc. etc.......i2f

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
My vote...(if you can handle the heat in August)...Grenada/Grenadines. For Grenada, until the wicked seasons of 2004/2005, they were considered outside of the Hurricane belt...then in 2 successive seaons, they were pounded by named storms hit (Ivan and Emily). Basically, after Ivan the whole island was leveled.

So, now insurance considers Grenada in the belt, and cruisers have to scurry to Trinidad to keep their storm coverage. But, before 2004/2005....it had been FORTY YEARS since the last named storm hit them.

In any case, I'd use this little statistical quirk to my advantage...as its still a cheap flight from San Juan (or if you're lucky - Miami) to go to Grenada in the off-season (now through November).

Good luck finding a charter equipped with a Gen-Set to power that A/C though. PHEW, it was 99 today in Fort Lauderdale...I cant imagine that equatorial sun right now.

·
Registered
247 Posts
If your going to be chartering for a week or so... then you should still be able to do a BVI trip but have the charter company agree to move the charter dates if "weather problems" appear to be imminent. If you truly have an open time frame that can be moved at last minute then go for it. Cost is far cheaper in this Off Season for the West Indies. It will be a bit hotter with less winds but generally calmer seas unless you have a storm coming down on you.