SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,563 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using a cell phone for a chart plotter since about 2014.

Cell phone chart plotters are not a good match for every ones navigation purposes but may be an acceptable solution for some, especially on smaller boats with less robust electrical systems.

Here is a vid I shot explaining why it works for me :)

·
Registered
1,926 Posts
I am using iNavex on an iPhone and it works just fine for me. I get to pick the charts I want from a variety of suppliers.

·
Registered
5,617 Posts
I find Navionics is effective as a plotter... and handy too! When I have a destination which is tens or scores a miles away AND I am able to fetch it sailing (of course motoring) there is no need to even entering a waypoint... though you can. And routes for sailboats make no sense with any plotter.... though powered boats can use them. The current information is very useful

All you need is a heading/course line out to "infinity" which will show where you will end up if you maintain your heading and there are no current influences. But when there is current you simply are adjusting your heading to keep the line crossing the destination.

As a convenience I DO enter a waypoint into the fixed mount plotter which then has data repeat to cockpit dash displays. I get data such as: DTW - distance to waypoint, CTW - course to waypoint, TTG time to go to waypoint, SOG - speed over the ground, COG - course over the ground. Also it sends cross track data which I don't bother with.

If you want a larger display use a tablet!

·
Registered
22,656 Posts