SailNet Community banner
  • Enter Our Dog Days of Summer BBQ Giveaway Now! ENDING SOON

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone found a reliable wind forecast and/or App?? I am using Predict Wind and WIndy right now and they are off more than on. I sail out of Narraganset Bay and surrounding waters.

Tnx

Mike
Celtic Breeze

·
Barquito
3,860 Posts
I am no weather expert. However, if you are on Windy.com, for example, you can choose among five different forecast models. Two of those, are the ones the National Weather Service uses (GFS, and NAM). I find it comforting if the different models agree with each other. I they differ significantly, I give a little more weight to the one with the forecast that could cause problems for me. In the end, I would think it very difficult to predict local conditions accurately every day.

·
Administrator
Beneteau 393
9,431 Posts
I doubt you'll get better than Predict Wind... They have extra models for subscribers.

But remember that local conditions can be completely different from these regional weather forecasters.

I don't know Narraganset Bay so can't advise... But if it's likely controlled by local winds then perhaps you need a local weather source?

Mark 😊

·
Registered
Contest 36s
8,025 Posts
For local cruising... (LIS etc.) the only concerning forecasts are for winds 20 and gusting 30. If you're sailing into it... no fun when you had the crazy waves. In the summer the problem is more likely no wind than too much.

·
Registered
‘77 Pearson 10m
414 Posts
To say the Windy or PredictWind are accurate or inaccurate isn’t the right way to look at it. All Apps just take the same data from various models and display them in ways that make sense to the app developers. If you like their visualization, you’ll like the app.
The models are different computer programs that take historical data and current info to churn out forecasts.