SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just because she is coming out of 8 years in storage seems a poor excuse. But why can't I keep this boat neat, tools stowed, and junk tossed? I cannot bring myself to throw anything away. Case in point. Temp gauge changed. Old one is rusted piece of corroded junk. But I found it on boat this morning. I tossed it but took a pic first. Is there a rehab prog for someone like me? Drives the wife and kids nuts... Me too sometimes.. Help!

Reactions: JimMcGee

·
Registered
431 Posts
It's not your fault.. it's not your fault... it's not your fault..

Just kidding, just put everything in your car or truck and ride around like Fred Sanford!

If it makes you feel any better, I have been riding around with a lifeline gate in my truck for 14 months.

·
Registered
2,086 Posts
Funny you mention it.
About 10-12 years ago I parked a sweet little OB runabout in the Garage, just spent a week digging it out from under a pile of old sailboat parts.
The biggest surprise was dozens of lifevests and those throwable square cushions. I got every kind and size of PFD possible, I've even got a full range of childrens sizes and I've got no children. Must have got them for the nieces and nephews, of course there is a new set I just bought for their children down on the boat.

·
Daniel - Norsea 27
1,258 Posts
I've been driving my truck around with all kinds of supplies for working on the boat from varnish, acetone, mineral spirits, epoxy, sand paper, tools etc. Someone borrowed my truck so I cleaned it all out and now it's mostly in my house (no garage). My boat is now on the trailer for refit time so things will get worse before it gets better.:rolleyes:

·
Chastened
4,861 Posts