SailNet Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Forum, I am a newbie - just bought a '79 Catalina 27'. The original engine was a Petters (sp?) and it currently has a Yanmar 2GM20F inboard diesel. I've heard the engine is worth more than the boat. Ha!

At any rate, I have scoured the web, and am not finding any kind of a simple maintenance checklist. I am not one to be very mechanically inclined, though I have successfully replaced the impeller, mixing elbows in order to resolve engine overheat.

The previous owner did not sail her very often and as such, I want to start fresh with all of the maintenance needs so I have a base level and feel comfortable with any upkeep going forward.

Any ideas of what book or guide or manual I can rely on for upkeep?

·
Registered
4,983 Posts

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
go to L-36.com. They probably have a manual in the Manuals section.

As for maintence, change the impeller and fuel filters annually, oil every 50 hours, keep the fuel clean. It will outlast both of us if cared for.

·
Registered
4 Posts
@dbw_kairos did you ever find a good maintenance log? (I'm new to diesel engines this year.) E.g. changing the transmission fluid is not mentioned in the thread above... The Yanmar manual I have does not have a prescribed schedule, like car manuals do. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,983 Posts
I check the trans fluid level a couple times a year and change every 2 or 3 years. Some change annually. Make sure you use the right fluid. Most Yanmars use engine oil but some use ATF.

·
Registered
Catalina 309; O'Day DS-II; various kayaks & beach toys
31 Posts
@dbw_kairos did you ever find a good maintenance log? (I'm new to diesel engines this year.) E.g. changing the transmission fluid is not mentioned in the thread above... The Yanmar manual I have does not have a prescribed schedule, like car manuals do. Thanks.
For a Yanmar GM series as the original poster mentioned?