SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I would like ask here for some advice regarding problems with starting my Yanmar 3GM30 engine. I am quite new to sailboat engines (previously sailed only charter boats, so except refueling, oil level checking and belt exchange I have no experience) so, please be patient to my problem description.

Let me describe sequential events. During summer I have sailed from Copenhagen to the Lofoten (north of Norway) and back. During the trip, we were motoring a lot since some passages were with no wind at all or right to the nose. During motoring, we experienced low oil pressure alert time to time. When occurred, I've refilled oil by 15w40. But consumption of oil was enormous (about 1 gallon per 80 - 100 hrs of running). There was little bit amount of oil under engine but no more than a quarter of a pint. Once we stuck with oil alert on one island and was forced to use one quart of 10w40. But engine was all the time running smoothly with no problems. On the end of summer, after two and half month of sailing, when returning after the whole trip to home port in Copenhagen suddenly engine revs fluctuated and in one minute the engine died. I tried to start again with no luck. I refilled oil and diesel just for case (not needed, but just to be sure), let the engine cool and after 40 minutes it started again and we managed it to home port. Since then we were several times motoring through the marina just to change berths with no problems. Week ago, we sailed to neighbouring marina for diesel. Everything went well, but after 2 hrs revs fluctuated again and in about 30s engine died. Since than, I was unable to start it again.

I have noticed, that from the exhaust is getting out white to gray smoke and in cooling water (salt water cooled) are oil droppings (to be more accurate, water behind boat has marks of oil in it)